drowned in knowledge

that is how I felt after today’s lecture on the science of climate change. But before telling you about the last days, a small publicity slot in German:

## Klimabroschüre erschienen!##

##Nach harter Arbeit von Klimaaktiven bei Avanti und [‘solid] sowie vielen anderen gibt es eine tolle neue Klimabroschüre, die auch EinsteigerInnen erklären soll, worum es bei den Klimaverhandlungen in Kopenhagen geht und was unsere Kritik daran ist. Hier downloaden oder bei [‘solid] bestellen! ##

All right, going on in the chronological order,
I felt much better on monday and almost good now – I still didn’t go on the river today, but went to uni and did everything else I had planned the last days. Many people in my course or at uni are or have been ill – but most of them only for few days, not what you fear in all that pandemic panic… Should I have studied Biochemistry and made a fortune in pharmaceutical industry? Maybe not, after all, having enough money to buy yourself an island in the Carribean isn’t that pleasant if the island is flooded within the next decades.
Other than uni, I had some fun with banks this week: After waiting nearly a month for my account to be set up, I called my bank branch on monday asking why they didn’t send me my stuff within a week as they had promised. On tuesday, I got a letter that they couldn’t give my an account, stateing no reasons whatsoever. I now applied for an account with another bank, and if I am not on some terrorism blacklist AND those keep their word and give me my account details within a week, I might even pay my damned study fees of 4450 GBP from my English account (Well, in the end it’s the German state paying, not me, luckily). Yesterday, we had a first meeting of our working group on the probability of major changes in ice dynamics in Greenland and Antarctica affecting sea-level rise predictions (for this century, as we agreed to specify the question). We did some good repartitioning of tasks, but my first priority is on that other paper due tomorrow in a week.
Today was our first lecture on dendroclimatology (deriving past climate data from tree ring records) with an amazingly fast-speaking lecturer who kept flooding us with words for two hours. But I don’t complain: What he said was really interesting and I really wanted to get out to the polar circle, get some tree cores and date them… Or could you do the same thing in subpolar southern latitudes? Maybe it hasn’t been done there that much before? But you need an enormous amount of data to derive a reliable signal – nothing for starting in a new region for a Master’s thesis…
By the way, some people in my course commented the first rain they had seen in Norwich (this week) on facebook – comparing to northern Germany we really live in a semi-arid region…
I also got myself a railcard that entitles me to a 1/3 discount on all rail fares (including the cheaper advance tickets), a pump that hopefully fits the valvets of my bike and a great map for a trip I am planning with friends one of those weeks. But I’d better get some work done before going to sleep now…

Leave a Reply

